Fair Labor Standards Act Reference Guide

Posted by Employer Flexible on August 14, 2017
Employer Flexible

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping and child labor standards affecting full-time and part-time workers in the private sector and in federal, state and local governments.

The Wage and Hour Division (WHD) of the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) administers and enforces the FLSA with respect to private employment, state and local government employment and federal employees of the Library of Congress, U.S. Postal Service, Postal Rate Commission, and the Tennessee Valley Authority. The FLSA is enforced by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management for the employees of other executive branch agencies, and by the U.S. Congress for covered employees of the legislative branch.

Special rules apply to state and local government employment involving fire protection and law enforcement activities, volunteer services and compensatory time off instead of cash overtime pay.

Click here to read the full guide.


Contact Us

Topics: compliance